Sunray Independent School District Superintendent Marshall Harrison is among the 15 individuals Governor Greg Abbott recently appointed to the Governor’s Broadband Development Council. Harrison’s term is set to expire in August of 2024.

The purpose of the council is to help rural areas that do not have easy access to the internet/telecommunications.

Harrison, according to a statement from the Governor’s office, “oversees the operations of a school district that serves 570 students in the northern Texas panhandle. He is a member of the Amarillo College Moore County Campus Advisory Board and president of the Sunray Lions Club. He is active in Sunray Baptist Church, where he served as interim pastor for eight months. In 2017, The Dallas Morning News recognized Harrison as the ‘Watch Dog Superintendent of the Year’. Harrison received degrees in agricultural education from Howard College and Tarleton State University, and a superintendent certification from Texas Tech University.”

Joining Harrison on the council are the 14 others who were appointed. They include Juli Blanda of Aransas Pass, Frank Moreno of Crystal City, Lindsey Lee of Edna, Marty Lucke of Floydada, Kirk Petty of Vernon, Thomas J. Kim of Austin, William Sproull of Richardson, Saurin Patel of Austin, Greg Pittman of Sherman, Jennifer Harris of Austin, Kenny Scudder of Odessa, Mike Easley of Austin, Edward Smith of Abilene and Steven Johnson of Austin.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.